Pinterest Fridays

4 Mar

Yes I know it’s not Friday. Be quiet. Who’s blog is this anyway?

Anyway, thought I’d start a regular weekly post with fun things from Pinterest. I shall attempt a theme each week. No promises though.

This week it’s centrepieces – or rather, clever ways to display flowers. For our wedding, one of the DIY projects I was crazy enough to take on was making my own vases from used green glass bottles. I found a tutorial online for snapping the tops off using twine, kerosene and a bucket of iced water. Google it at your peril. But I couldn’t afford to hire or buy dozens of vases and since then, I’ve always admired creative ways to display flowers, so here’s three that caught my attention this week.

 

My breezeblock obsession has been evidenced here. Love the soft, smooth, heavy weight of them. What a smart – and SUPER cheap – centrepiece. No chance of that baby getting knocked over after a few champagnes…

 

Love how the bold tablecloth brings a certain freshness to a quirky retro fish vase. I used to have a pair like these, ‘cept they were swans. Moral of the story: op shops are your friend. Whether you want to go shabby chic cut crystal and tea cups or all palm springs modern, a regular trawl of secondhand shops can yield a grand collection of abandoned treasures just waiting to be repurposed.

 

 

Height. It’s so tricky to achieve tastefully. But when you have a huge lofty space like this barn-looking spot, would be criminal not to try to use it! It’s also a great example of how to pull off rustic, IMO: simple, simple simple. Let the materials do their thing.

 

 

Leave a Reply

