Kaffeeklatsch: Coffee Alchemy

7 Jun

I know some ladies who have internal maps of all the accessible loos in the neighbourhood. Guys who know where to get a kebab at 2am anywhere in town. Me, I have a coffee radar. Don’t ask me to make critical decisions before coffee. In fact, best not to try and hold a conversation at all.

I sometimes wonder what the staff at my daily fix think of the semi-catatonic woman that drags her 2 year old in virtually every morning, barely able to string a sentence together, scrambling for coins. Even when Mr B pops in on Sundays to buy me a cup while I’m having a sleep in, bless him, the barista greets The Berry by name.

So I love adding another X marks the spot to my collection of decent brews. Here’s a newbie: Coffee Alchemy on Addison Rd, just down from the pool where The Berry has her swimming lesson. Perfect location, really. Small (but not squeezy), calm, bench seats up the back where you can stash a small person or three, and not too tricky to park out front. Oh, and absolutely fabulous rich, slightly bitter, perfectly made coffee.

Coffee Alchemy
24 Addison Road, Marrickville (well I’d call it Enmore)
Monday to Friday 7am to 2pm
Saturday 8am to 3pm

Where’s your favourite coffee spot?

6 Responses to “Kaffeeklatsch: Coffee Alchemy”

  1. Roar Sweetly June 7, 2012 at 1:05 pm #

    That’s in my neck of the woods, must check it out this week.

    • Rosalind Thomas June 7, 2012 at 9:49 pm #

      Would love your verdict, Roar Sweetly! Or your own fav coffee fix?

      • Roar Sweetly June 15, 2012 at 12:47 pm #

        This morning I had a coffee at Alchemy with my sister, who is visiting from Adelaide. Fortunately we arrived moments before a huge crowd and had our orders placed and a good little possie in the corner. Wow, the coffee is exquisite and the staff treat it like an art form. It’s definitely caffeine for the true aficionado.

        Sadly, these days I rank my cafes based upon the availability of Ikea high chairs and toy tubs. For this reason, my top three are Bitton-Alexandria, Sideways Café–Dulwich Hill and Kelby’s Café-Marrickville.

  2. Suzysiu July 7, 2012 at 8:40 pm #

    I’m also a fan! When I walk from Addison Rd Centre back to Enmore park, perfect place to stop or grab a takeaway.

  3. Bec July 23, 2012 at 11:11 am #

    My fav Sydney coffee haunt!! Next time, I’m in town, let’s organise a date!!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Coffee Alchemy Wins! Blogger Declares Brilliance! « LIKE GIANTS - June 22, 2012

    […] after my review, Coffee Alchemy in Enmore/Marrickville has won the Sydney Morning Herald Good Cafe Award for Best […]

Leave a Reply

