You Can Win Friends With Salad…

25 Jun

When I was a kid, it was often my job to make the salad dressing for dinner. It always started with a scrambling search for an old pasta or jam jar with a matching lid from the perpetual avalanche tumbling out of the cupboard. I was as shocked by the order in my school friends’ kitchens as the weirdly sweet kraft dressing that would drown the iceberg lettuce served with meals.

This beautiful image via A Cup Of Jo shows exactly how it should be done – although I’d still prefer an old jam jar to a mortar and pestle, just crush, shake, and wait.

2 Responses to “You Can Win Friends With Salad…”

  1. Roar Sweetly June 26, 2012 at 12:12 pm #

    Oooh I cannot stomach supermarket salad dressings. I agree they are incredibly sweet. My favourite: Olive oil, balsamic vinegar, dash of mustard, squeeze of lemon, a whole garlic clove to ‘marinate’ and salt + pepper.

    I never thought to add anchovies to a salad dressing, but they disintegrate well and would add a lovely saltiness.

  2. Suzysiu July 2, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

    We are also a jam jar salad dressing family! My dad did it that way, and so do I :) You’re making me hungry for salad!

Leave a Reply

