Nigella Lawson’s Food Processor Chocolate Cake

23 Jul

Sometimes, a girl just needs chocolate cake, and it doesn’t get any easier than this (unless you open a packet). Trust Nigella to come up with a recipe you can do in a food processor – I think she’s on board with sudden and insistent cake cravings.

I wasn’t a believer at first and skipped over this a bunch of times. Isn’t spending half an hour creaming the bloody butter and sugar, sifting stuff blah blah – isn’t that all very crucial to the science of baking? Well apparently not, if you’re happy with a slightly fudgy texture at the end. Yeah, didn’t think that would be a problem. So here’s the basic recipe:

Pre-heat oven to 180.

Take all this stuff:

200g plain flour
200g caster sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
40g best-quality cocoa (I use Valrhona)
175g soft unsalted butter
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons real vanilla extract
150ml sour cream

And dump it in your food processor. Whizz it. Voila.

At this stage, Nigella suggests popping it in two tins and into the oven for 25-30 mins.

But I like to pimp it up a bit. ‘Cause while this is very, very, easy, chocolate cake should have actual chocolate in it, IMO.

So I add a 100g block of flavoured Lindt chocolate. Sometimes the orange, sometimes blueberry. This time there was coconut in the cupboard. So I just melt it and pour in while the food processor’s running, just as everything’s coming together. I don’t think Nigella would object.

Best raw cake batter ever. Resistance is futile.

I chucked it in one tin cause I couldn’t find the bottom to the other in my corner cupboard to Narnia. Just turned the temp down a bit and left it in for an extra 15 mins.

My assistant adds some desiccated coconut to the cream topping.

Eat me. OK.

5 Responses to “Nigella Lawson’s Food Processor Chocolate Cake”

  1. Suzysiu July 23, 2012 at 8:41 am #

    Mmm, looks delicious. Love that plate the cake is on!

  2. Bec July 23, 2012 at 10:55 am #

    Oh my! Lindt flavoured choc in cake…. what a genius idea!

  3. Roar Sweetly July 23, 2012 at 11:07 am #

    Nigella led me up the garden path with her peanut butter hummus (I’m still a little traumatised from the taste….NEVER AGAIN), but I guess I could give this one a go. Sounds too easy not to try.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bill Bread | LIKE GIANTS - May 15, 2013

    […] The guy can do breakfast. And in my quest to rack up more non-beating, melt and mix recipes like this one, I bring you Bill’s Bread. He uses banana, which I’ve tried and is delicious, but I […]

Leave a Reply

