Bill Bread

15 May

I’ve always found Bill Granger a bit odd as a person. But in yesteryear, pre-Berry, Bills was conveniently located at the top of my street. Before I read the cookbooks and discovered the secret behind the deliciousness of his eggs (equal parts egg, cream and butter should do the trick), I swooned like the rest of Sydney over his brekkies. The guy can do breakfast. And in my quest to rack up more non-beating, melt and mix recipes like this one, I bring you Bill’s Bread. He uses banana, which I’ve tried and is delicious, but I also love roast pumpkin as a substitute and is what I’m currently munching on…

melt and mix pumpkin bread

The Low Down:

250ml sour cream

1 teaspoon bicarb

100g butter, melted

200g caster sugar

2 medium eggs, lightly beaten

250g plain flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon cinnamon (or whatever spices you fancy, I like some nutmeg too)

250g mashed whatever (roast pumpkin, banana, stewed pear etc)

Mix the sour cream and the bicarb together and let it stand a while (like 5 mins). While it’s getting all activated, you can beat your eggs in a cup, melt the butter etc etc. Then stir together the wet ingredients, add the sugar and stir again, then sift over the flour and baking powder and spices. Mix in the mash, then pour into a loaf tin and bake at 180 for about 45 mins.

The sour cream makes the loaf so moist and light and crazy delicious. Don’t come crying to me if you scoff half of it hot out of the oven standing at the kitchen bench. Not that I’d know anything about that.

One Response to “Bill Bread”

  1. Jess May 19, 2013 at 7:18 pm #

    Made it with mashed sweet potato and a mix of wholemeal flour and oats. It turned out really well though had to cook it a bit longer than 45 minutes. Delicious!!

Leave a Reply

