Confessions

22 Jul

This post originally appeared on the fabulous KIDsize Living

My daughter received her first birthday party invite from a preschool mate this week, and I almost exploded with glee. But I confess, it was not from motherly pride that my little darling was making friends (I’m pretty sure everybody got one), but because I adore kids birthday parties.

I am that person. I love me a cake pop just as much as a good ol’ slice of fairy bread. I’m a nocturnal baker, one-handed pom-pom fluffer and I can bang out bunting by the metre.

Not with me? Here’s a list of all that’s good about small people parties:

#1 Eating cake
The basic essence of the thing. Cake, and plenty of it. For the sake of the children, of course.

#2 Champagne before midday
Maybe it says something about the circles I move in, but a nice glass of bubbles is thrust into my eager grasp no matter what the shindig start time. 10am? OK, put a splash of OJ in there for appearance’s sake.

#3 Crowd-sourced child minding
There is a critical point where enough kids in one place means they entertain each other and I don’t have to, and birthdays provide the crowd. Add a bouncy castle or a face-painting Aunty and we’re on.

#4 Perving on other mums in their natural habitat
You know you’re curious. Does Archie’s mum have hand-towels in her bathroom? What will the party-bag lolly philosophy be? And those pre-procreation friends are nursing hangovers in the corner? They’ve got tales to tell…

#5 Post-party naps
Parties are exhausting. Time that sugar crash right and I’m guaranteed a nap from the poppet – and quiet cup of tea for me – when we get home. I’m going to raid the party bag while there’s no one looking.

Leave a Reply

